Open fire season now in place for most of upper North Island


There is now an open fire season in most parts of the upper North Island.

No caption

An open fire season means permits are not required to light fires in the open-air. Photo:

Permits are no longer required to light open fires in Auckland, Waikato, Bay of Plenty, Taupō and Thames-Coromandel.

The change also applies to Otorohanga and Waitomo in King Country.

The Waipā Peat Zone in Waipā District remains a fire prohibited area.

Fire and Emergency Waikato district manager Daryl Trim said recent rain was welcomed and had reduced the outdoor fire risk.

The risk of wildfire was still there, he said.

“There is always a chance a wildfire will spread so please be careful. If you are lighting a fire, make sure it is well controlled and safe.”

All of the populated islands in the Hauraki Gulf, Great Barrier, Waiheke, Kawau, Ponui and Rakino have now moved to a restricted fire season, where a permit is required to light a fire.

A total fire ban remains on other islands in the gulf.

FENZ Te Hiku Region manager Ron Devlin said everyone needed to be careful and check the weather conditions before lighting an open-air fire, whatever the fire season.

“We always encourage anyone lighting an open-air fire to check the conditions before they light.”

“If it’s dry and windy, please postpone your fire until the conditions are less of a risk – even if you do have a permit. In these conditions, there is a real risk that a fire may get out of control.”

Northland also remains in a prohibited fire season, but it will be reviewed later this week.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like